News and information from our partners

Mosier Community Schools get new board members and officers

The members of the Mosier Community School Foundation elected two new people to the board of directors on May 9.

Lisa Matthisen and Robert Teskey will each serve 3 year terms.

Matthisen is a Mosier resident and a parent of two children in Mosier Schools. She has been volunteering at Mosier Community School for the past five years. Professionally she has been a consulting health care actuary for the past 20 years. With that she brings many skills to the school board, such as: financial management, communication and negotiation skills.

Robert Teskey is a native Oregonian, who has spent the past five years with his family living in Guangzhou, China. He has two children now in Mosier Schools, and owns a consulting business based in Mosier. Professionally he works in global product development and manufacturing for the sports industry. He has experience with budgeting, finance and management, and says he looks forward to contributing those skills to the board.

Also on May 9, the board appointed Monica Reid for a two-year term to replace outgoing director Brian McCormick. Reid is a founding member of the Mosier Middle School Board, and had previously served one term on the MCS Board. She and her husband are both small business owners, living in Mosier with two children in Mosier Schools. Her business focuses on assisting local governments with funding for infrastructure projects. Through that work she has skills in public policy, long range planning, grant writing and finance for large-scale construction projects.

The boards of Mosier Community School and Mosier Middle School were unified in 2012. As a result, some board positions are appointed and some are elected. Beginning in 2014, there will be one elected and one appointed position open each year, except for 2015 when there will be two appointed and one elected position open.

At the meeting the board also elected new officers. Monica Reid and Steve Salmon will serve as co-chairs, Robert Teskey will serve as secretary and Steve Shwiff as treasurer. The new directors join current directors Ron Carroll, Steve Salmon, Rachel Mortensen and Stephen Shwiff.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from The Chronicle and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)