News and information from our partners

TDW, Sherman honors its top athletes of ‘13

The Dalles Wahtonka High School announced year-end athlete award winners for the 2012-2013 sports season at the All Sports Ceremony held last Tuesday in The Dalles.

All-state baseball recipient Connor Mathisen won Male Scholar Athlete honors and fellow TDW graduates Maya Barnard-Davidson and Anndria North were recognized as the school’s Female Scholar Athletes.

Also on the girl’s side, all-state winner and University of Pittsburgh-bound softball player Katherine Kramer had all the votes in her favor for Female Athlete of the Year.

Nolan McCall captured all-state awards for his play on the diamond and picked up a Male Athlete of the Year selection.

Multiple athletes were honored in the Vince Peickert, Hall of Fame, Three-Sport Letter and Amaton awards.

Katie Mazeski, Audrey Miller and Grant Pearson grabbed the Vince Peickert Award.

Lio Tunai, Anndria North, Nolan McCall, Steve Bartells, Kaci Kiser, Conner Mathisen, Dakota Walker, Grayson Byers, Katherine Kramer, Maya Barnard-Davidson and Nolan McCall received Hall of Fame awards.

Individuals who were varsity standouts in three sports as letter winners were Anna Daggett, Maya Barnard-Davidson, Amanda Cimmiyotti, Will McClennan, Austin Wilson, Colton Lee, Mark Johnson, Zach Nerdin, Lori Cimmiyotti, Katie Conklin and Olivia Starks.

Taking plaques and ribbons for their efforts through the year for the Amaton Award were Mid-Columbia Medical Center and Water’s Edge employees and contributors, Brad Aytes, Brandon Strizich, Robert Jones, Matt Eby, Dr. Cullen, Rod Runyon, Bryan Dean and Chad Sperry.

Sherman names spring winners

Sherman High School named its spring award winners, honored three-sport athletes and handed out a pair of scholarships in a recently held ceremony in Moro.

Taking home awards for being active four-year, three-sport athletes were Riley Brown, Samantha Coons and Brian Simantel, and the duo of Maddie Belshe and Nick von Borstel picked up scholarships.

Belshe, a multi-year state tennis qualifier, earned the Susie Thompson Memorial Scholarship, while von Borstel received the prestigious Jerry DuBois Memorial Scholarship.

On the baseball diamond, Nick Coleman had his name called as a Big Sky Conference first team honoree for his play in the outfield and Riley Brown chalked up Big Sky honorable mention infielder.

Kaiden Paulette was named as the Sherman baseball team’s most improved player and Daniel Aguilar grabbed a certificate of participation.

Brown had votes for being the most inspirational and the Mr. Hustle Award went to freshman Wyatt Stutzman.

On the tennis court, Belshe, a four-year athlete, added most inspirational to her long list of accomplishments.

Alex Riggs garnered the Mr. Hustle Award and the Most Improved player on the roster was Rebekah Bourgeois.

There were 15 members of the track and field team to earn letters, with Coons qualifying for a four-year award.

In the track category, Meagan McKinney had the distinction of being the most improved and Coons had the same honor in the field class.

Jasmine Wilson added Most Inspirational and Coleman, Coons, Blake Evans, Brett Evans, Andie Harrison, Shelby Kaseberg, McKinney, Katie Poirier, Brooklyn Sandquist, Tanner Sandquist and Wilson were state track participants.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from The Chronicle and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)