News and information from our partners

TDW players named to all-league teams

The 2013 Columbia River Conference all-league members were named earlier this week with 18 baseball and softball players taking slots and both Katherine Kramer and Nolan McCall picking up co-Player of the year honors.

As part of leading TDW’s baseball squad to a CRC league crown and one of the state’s top-5 offenses, head coach J.R. Runyon received recognition for the division’s Coach of the Year.

This is the second time Runyon has garnered Coach of the Year status since 2009, when he was a co-coach.

Along with McCall, Hood River Valley’s Kyle Beam earned a spot as co-Player of the Year.

On the baseball first team, TDW had six athletes have their names selected to represent the Eagle Indians.

McCall, Steven Bartells and Justin Sugg made up three-fourths of the Tribe’s starting infield and did top work on both offense and defense to chalk up slots on the first team.

Kaci Kiser and Connor Mathisen grabbed first team votes for their play in the outfield, and senior Dakota Walker had his name called as a first-team pitcher.

Clay Copper took care of business as the catcher’s spot and the junior was rewarded for his play with a post on the second team.

Mathisen added another exacta to his award list and hit the second-team list as a pitcher.

Senior outfielder Kevin Henderson was a new weapon on the Eagle Indians and he made his voice be known with top numbers to put him on the second team in the outfield.

Rounding out the 10 standout players was Austin Wilson, who tallied notches for his place on the honorable mention list as an infielder.

Pendleton’s Tim Cary has his softball team ranked No. 1 in state now with only four losses in 26 regular-season contests. With only one league loss, the rest of the CRC coaches saw fit to pencil in Cary as Coach of the Year.

Pendleton senior Shea Lindsey stepped up her play this season in centerfield and had her name called alongside Kramer for co-Player of the Year.

For The Dalles Wahtonka, they had four players pick up first-team votes.

Kramer had a nod for her play at catcher and fellow senior Melanie Taphouse patrolled first base and made all the plays to earn her slot on the first squad.

Blessed with an ability to play all over the field, including pitcher, first base and outfield, versatile junior Morgan Triperinas notched a first-team nod as a utility player.

Making a well-deserved entrance on the first-team in just her first varsity season, freshman speedster Hannah Harris made quite the impression in her nine league games and had to be entered as a first-team qualifier as an outfielder.

Senior Carley Gowdy picked up both of the Eagle Indian league wins in the campaign, providing many key innings in the circle to chalk up a slot on the second team.

Three seniors rounded out the softball list with Meghan Rowland getting her name called for her play in the outfield as an honorable mention.

Katie Helyer came through in a high-pressure position at shortstop this season, played solid defense, and had some big hits in being selected as an honorable mention selection.

Another senior, Kella DeHart, hit the ground running in extensive varsity action at second base and tallied a final spot on the honorable mention list.

Hermiston’s Paige Long and Pendleton’s Marissa Jones shared co-Pitcher of the Year awards.

TDW softball plays again at 5 p.m. Friday versus Corvallis at 16th Street Ballpark for senior night.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from The Chronicle and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)