News and information from our partners

Wolfe, Willer, Nelson, Nerdin and McAllister win seats

North Wasco County School Board candidates Dean McAllister, John Nelson and Eric Nerdin won seats in the Tuesday, May 21, special district election, as did Bill Wolfe and John Willer, the firefighter-backed ticket at Mid-Columbia Fire and Rescue.

McAllister defeated John Fredrick, who had earlier announced he would not actively campaign. McAllister won with 81 percent of the vote, 307-68.

Nelson defeated incumbent David Jones with almost 57 percent of the vote, 199-146.

Nerdin claimed the seat vacated by longtime board member Brian Stall, defeating Aaron Bowman with 51 percent of the vote, 196-187.

Willer defeated Carmen Gronquist with 68 percent of the vote, 1,636-751 in his Mid-Columbia Fire and Rescue District race.

Retired firefighter Bill Wolfe defeated incumbent Harry Larsen with almost 55 percent of the vote, 1,375-1,125.

In other contested races, Lee Roy Herman defeated Marc Berry for Mosier Fire District Director Position 3, 131-84. Carol Franklin-Rager defeated Mike Foreaker for Zone 6 director in South Wasco County School District 1.

Final, unofficial voter turnout for Wasco County was 29.31 percent with a total of 3,938 ballots cast.

Look for more details in today's Chronicle.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from The Chronicle and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)