Photo detail

Oregon State Police Trooper Ryan Sharp, second from left, is pictured receiving the Oregon State Police Medal of Valor. From left is Lt. Mike Turner, Sharp, fellow medal recipient Trooper Mitch Pace, and OSP Superintendent Travis Hampton. The newly established medal is awarded to members who react to a situation by displaying acts of courage, which go beyond their normal duty, therefore reducing the risk of injury or loss of life to another person.

Stories this photo appears in:

Grass Valley native gets OSP medal

Six troopers recently received the first ever Medal of Valor issued by the Oregon State Police. Two of them, Ryan Sharp and Zach Bohince, have local ties. Both troopers were shot at by fleeing suspects in vehicle pursuits.

September 28, 2017 1:20 p.m. read more..


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from The Chronicle and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)